Help with starting out with OPENRNDR

Hello fellow artists!

Are there any guides, tutorials I should start with in order to learn visual programming with OPENRNDR? I’ve read the docs and played around for a week with my own programs but I feel like there’s a lot of topics that I can’t seem to grasp in the OPENRNDR guide. Especially troubling is the Advanced section, where I’m having trouble with understanding the topic on Custom rendering.

So to reiterate: Where should I begin learning? Is there a repo of projects I could learn from. Keep in mind I’m a full stack developer and I did a bit of ML so I’m not new to programming.

Thank you in advance. I look forward to reading your suggestions.

Cheers

Nigel

Hi @Nigel ! Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

I think a good place to start is in https://guide.openrndr.org/ as you already did.
You are right that the more advanced topics are not covered so much in depth. Topics like compute shaders for example just include something like a hello world.

Personally, I would approach it with something in mind that you want to build (instead of trying to know everything) but I guess different people like to learn in different ways :slight_smile: If you get stuck you can ask here or in Slack. I’ve been using it for over two years and there are still many areas I haven’t tried, because there are so many possibilities, specially if you experiment with the orx extensions.

I’m not sure it’s useful, but here are some of my experiments GitHub - hamoid/openrndr-template: A feature rich template for creating OPENRNDR programs based on Gradle/Kts . It’s probably disorganized, not every program necessarily works or is interesting.

Knowing about OPENGL can be useful. I learned following this guide (in C++): https://learnopengl.com/