Hello from Seoul!

hello. I found this super nice new framework few days ago and It’s so lovely. thank you so much for this wonderful library and can’t wait to see will be update more.

can I ask something about IDE setup? (vscode)

I’m not a super professional programmer but having lot of experience with processing and openFrameworks. now a days been looking other frameworks like nannou(which is based on rust) and openRNDR.

I follow instruction IDE setup from guide document and everything works perfect but usually I don’t want to rely on specific IDE like xcode, Jetbrain IntelliJ CE. so I just want to try it on vscode.

since I don’t have deep experience with JAVA and especially kotlin (this is the first time I tried). so I’m not sure I’m doing right way. but clone repository https://github.com/openrndr/openrndr-template to new name and open in vscode. then for running, just type ./gradlew run then seems to work.

one things I want to do is that the autocomplete with language server. but I had a issue that in vscode there is an issue

Class 'kotlin.Unit' was compiled with an incompatible version of Kotlin. The binary version of its metadata is 1.8.0, expected version is 1.6.0.

I found set kotlin version in settings.gradle.kts file

dependencyResolutionManagement {
    versionCatalogs {
        create("libs") {
            version("kotlin", "1.6.0")      // this line,

and change it to 1.6.0 then language server works. but is it right ?

btw, I’m macOS M1 environment. I’ll try in linux as well.

1 Like

Hii! Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Version 1.8.0 is quite new, just changed last week I think. Maybe the language server has not been updated yet? You could use 1.6.0 and try with the newer version later to see if it works?

I believe we are not using things that require 1.8.0.

I’m curious to hear how is the experience in vscode. In Idea I find it very good, but I understand is more convenient to use the same IDE for everything.