Running on Apple M1

I saw that there had been no movement on this issue (Feature request: Support MacOS ARM · Issue #261 · openrndr/openrndr · GitHub)about M1 support, but it looked like, since there does exist a LWJGL version that supports the M1, this could be an easy change to do my self. However, I was looking at the template project, and I am new to the Gradle build system and couldn’t find where the dependencies are listed. Is there an easy way to locally bump the LWJGL version to get OPENRNDR to run on an M1 mac?

Hi hi ! Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Have you tried with the 0.4 branch?

To try you can do this:

#  build latest openrndr and publish to local maven
git clone https://github.com/openrndr/openrndr
cd openrndr
./gradlew publishToMavenLocal -Prelease.version=0.5.1-SNAPSHOT
cd ..

#  build latest orx and publish to local maven
git clone https://github.com/openrndr/orx
cd orx
./gradlew publishToMavenLocal -Prelease.version=0.5.1-SNAPSHOT
cd ..

# clone 0.4 branchn of the template, which uses local maven snapshots by default
git clone https://github.com/openrndr/openrndr-template.git
cd openrndr-template
git checkout openrndr-0.4

Thanks for the tip! Unfortunately this is the output I get from trying to build openrnder

> Configure project :openrndr-animatable
Kotlin Multiplatform Projects are an Alpha feature. See: https://kotlinlang.org/docs/reference/evolution/components-stability.html. To hide this message, add 'kotlin.mpp.stability.nowarn=true' to the Gradle properties.

FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.

* What went wrong:
Could not determine the dependencies of task ':kotlinNodeJsSetup'.
> Could not resolve all files for configuration ':detachedConfiguration4'.
   > Could not find org.nodejs:node:14.17.0.
     Searched in the following locations:
       - https://repo.maven.apache.org/maven2/org/nodejs/node/14.17.0/node-14.17.0.pom
       - https://nodejs.org/dist/v14.17.0/node-v14.17.0-darwin-arm64.tar.gz
     Required by: